About College

History

The college was founded in 1951 and approved by the Ministry of the Interior. It is one of more than 8,000 educational institutions around the world for the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Its purpose is to cultivate talents and spread gospel. The year of the establishment of the college was the third year after the establishment of the Taiwan Mission (now known as Taiwan Conference). The church members felt the importance of educating and training young students, so a suggestion was proposed by Taiwan Mission to South China Island Union Mission (now known as Chinese Union Mission) for General Conference’s approval for special appropriations to start Taiwan Theological Institute, located in Qizhang, Xindian of suburban Taipei. It was a co-educational boarding school for preparatory training of young men and women.
In the spring of 1964, the school was elevated to a senior college and approval was granted to offer baccalaureate level programs. In 1967, the school was renamed Taiwan Missionary College. This meant that theological training was the purpose of the establishment with Jesus Christ as the center and strived to advance in spiritual, intellectual, and physical development. The college moved to its present site at Yuchih in 1974. The name, Taiwan Adventist College, has been adopted since August 1981. In 1999, the college was under Chinese Union Mission. Since 2013, it has been under
North-Asia Pacific Division (NSD).

Since the establishment of the college, it has always followed the principles of Christian education and the purpose and vision of the founding school. It has cultivated young students to have a balanced development in spiritual, intellectual, and physical aspects, promote gospel, serve community, and win souls.
Taiwan Adventist Academy received government accreditation in 2006; Taiwan Adventist International School was established in 2007.

Taiwan Adventist College

Mission / Vision / Value

Mission Statement

To provide students with Christian education to develop Christian morals, values, and outlook on life, to enhance good health and character, to promote knowledge and competency, and generous service to society in keeping with a witness to Christ of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.

Vision

Taiwan Adventist College exists to seek and practice the truth of God, as we commit to a lifestyle value based on living faith and godly character. We train students to apply Bible and professional knowledge, venture into innovative endeavors individually and corporately, and strive for excellence. As staff and students embrace a global outlook in winning souls and play an important role in Christ leadership, we impact the global Chinese communities of the times by consolidating Taiwan and reaching out to other parts of the world.

Value

Care and Support
Sincerity and Truth
Justice and Kindness
Lifelong Learning and Personal Growth

Learn to do good; Strive for excellence

President’s Message

“Success without Successors is a Failure.” This has always been a motto that I strongly believe. Since taking the post of president of Taiwan Adventist College on August 1, 2018, I am intent on passing to every student my experiences and knowledge gained throughout my life. This process requires constant pleading for the presence and power of God at all times.

In this school year, TAC administrative team has taken on a new prospect Dr. Kah Eng Kuah from Singapore succeeded as vice President and Academic Dean. With four master’s degrees and a doctorate of electronic engineering from the University of California, Berkeley Division, Dr. Ke Jia Yong is an all-round professional teacher in different fields. Pastor Yuan Fuji, from Singapore too, succeeded as Chaplain. He used to be the president of Singapore Conference and church pastor of Loma Linda Chinese Church in USA, these have endowed him with rich experiences in pastoral and church administration. Presently, Pastor Yuan Fuji also serves as a lecturer in the Department of Theology to share his valuable experiences with students. Steven Gray, an Australian, who has been living in Taiwan for over 20 years, accepted the call to serve as manager of General Affairs. Steven served for TAC in the past and is back because of his passion for working for the Lord. Steven has a “Mission Mind” – that means whatever he does, he puts faith and church ministry in the first place and totally devotes himself to the work of God. Pastor Paul Yuan, a plain Taiwanese, has served TAC for three years. He has a degree of MDiv from AIIAS and previously served as Chaplain in TAC and church pastor of Yuchih church. He also had lots of experiences serving Taiwan Conference before. His new responsibility is closely related to student life, which coincides with his previous work as Chaplain. It gives him great pleasure in spending time and communicating with students, providing help in their campus life, study, and spiritual life.

Every work, every position, and every organization faces challenge. TAC is no exception. Recruiting students is becoming tough due to the impact of declining birthrate in Taiwan and religious and cultural differences in mainland China. We have come to a point where transformation is imminent. During this school year, we will continue to follow up with the application of accreditation. We will also put effort on fundraising so that more needy young people who have passion for gospel work will have a chance to study in TAC and become effective workers for God in the future.

With God we can succeed. Looking at how God cared for the prophet Jeremiah, we can stand boldly, concentrate on God’s promises and plead for His will, He would also bestow blessings and grace beyond any difficulties and limitations of circumstances.

Dr. Terry Tsui

Certification

1. Over the years, the school has accepted five-year evaluation of the Adventist Accrediting Association (AAA). The recent awards include degrees in Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Arts, Faculty of Pastoral Studies, Bachelor of Arts in Health Promotion, Bachelor of Arts in Health and Management, Bachelor of Arts in Bilingual Business, Bachelor of Music, and Associate Degree in Education. Passing the certification period: from 2018 to May 2022.

2. In addition to being accredited by our AAA appraisal, the Institute has been accredited and accredited by the Association of Southeast Asian Theological Associations (ATESEA) since 2000. It has recently been accredited by experts from 2012 to November 2020.

Accredited Course

A

Approved by the Association of Southeast Asian Theological Associations in 2012, including Bachelor of Arts in Theology, Bachelor of Arts in Religion, and Bachelor of Arts in Pastoral Studies. Passed the certification period: from 2017 to November 2020.

B

Obtained the Southeast Asian Theological Association in 2017 (assessed through the Master of Pastoral. The certification period: from 2017 to November 2020).

History

2018

A cooperative program of MA in Religion program launched with Andrews University.

2018
2017
2017

The Master of Ministry program was accredited by the Education Department of the General Conference and ATESEA.

2015

Taiwan Adventist International School was accredited by the Ministry of Education and renamed Taiwan Adventist International Experimental Institution.

2015
2013
2013

The BA in Theology, Religion, and Ministry programs were accredited by ATESEA. Since January 2013, TAC has come directly under Northern Asia-Pacific Division.

2011

The opening of Cross-Strait allowed mainland China students to study in Taiwan.

2011
2008
2008

CHUM approved the initial plans for TAIS

2007

Vision: To consolidate Taiwan and reach out to other parts of the world. First extention site opened in unorganized territory.

2007
2006
2006

Daniel Hall, Student Activity Center, and Cypress Hall were constructed using 921 Earthquake donations. The Ministry of Education accredited Taiwan Adventist Academy. San-Yu Health Education Center came under TAC management

2001

Taiwan Adventist Academy was accredited by the Education Bureau of the Nantou County as San-Yu Experimental Academy.

2001
1999
1999

Administrative building and Songhe buildings were demolished during 921 Earthquake.

1991

New college church built. General Conference Education Department granted TAC BA in Arts, Science, and Theology degrees.

1991
1981
1981

Renamed Taiwan Adventist College.

1980

San Yu Bible School (Academy) moved from Da-chin, Pingtung to present campus.

1980
1973
1973

College moved to Yuchih , name remained as Taiwan Missionary College.

1967

Renamed Taiwan Missionary College, majoring in theological training.

1967
1964
1964

Upgraded to four-year college with a bachelor's degree.

1954

Renamed to Taiwan Training Institute, faculty upgraded and facilities expanded.

1954
1952
1952

First president, Pr. C. A. Carter.

1951

Xindian site was chosen by the Board; the school was named Taiwan Theological Institute.

1951

認識三育

學院簡介

校史簡介

本院創立於1951年,經內政部核准在案,為基督復臨安息日會在全球各地所設八千餘所教育機構之一,其目的在培育人材,弘揚教義。建院之年,亦為台灣區會創立後第三年,本會人士有感於教育訓練青年學子之重要性,於是由區會建議,經華南海島聯合會呈准全球總會撥款興辦,旋即擇地於台北市郊新店七張建校,並定名為〔台灣三育神道書院〕,招收青年男女寄宿就讀,予以預備科之訓練。
1964年春,經遠東總會及全球總會議決後,將本院升格為四年制大學學院。1967年改名為「台灣三育神學院」,意謂神學為本院設立之宗旨與目的,以耶穌基督為中心,力求在靈、智、體三方面並進之宗教教育。及1974年,乃遷校於南投縣魚池鄉現址,1981年八月更名為〔三育基督學院〕。1999改隸華安聯合會,2013年改隸北亞太分會至今。
自創校以來本院始終本著基督化教育原則,以及起初創校宗旨、願景,培植青年學子在靈、智、體各方面有均衡之發展,弘揚福音、服務社會、克盡濟世救人之宗旨。
2006年台灣三育高級中學獲教育部核准立案,2007年設立復臨國際學校,並於獲教育部核准立案為復臨國際教育機構。

Taiwan Adventist College

使命異象價值

我們的使命

用基督的方法教育學生,使學生具有基督徒的道德觀、價值觀及人生觀,成為身心健康,品格、知識、技能兼備的人才,盡心盡力為人服務,並宣揚基督復臨的信息。

我們的願景

『一所追求實踐真理、造就生命品格,活出信仰價值的基督化學府。培養學子知所應用聖經與專業知識,在個人與團隊中勇於創新,卓越精進。師生洋溢著救靈的國度視野與領袖情懷,立穩本土放眼世界,為全球華人社會帶出時代性的影響力。』

我們的價值觀

生命關懷.誠信忠實
公義慈愛.終身學習

學習行善,止於至善

Learn to do good , Strive for excellence

院長的話

“沒有接班人的成功是失敗的”,這句話一直是我心中堅信的座右銘。自2018年8月1日接任三育基督學院的院長職分以來,我滿心期望奉獻畢生所經歷的、所學習的皆傳承於每一位學子。在這樣的過程中,無不需要時時懇求上帝的力量及同在。

這學年三育基督學院的行政團隊有了新的氣象。來自新加坡的柯嘉永博士接任副院長及教務長的工作,他同時擁有4個碩士學位及美國加州大學柏克萊分校的電子工程博士學位,是一個全方位在各個知識領域非常專業的教師。同樣來自新加坡的袁福基牧師為本院的院牧。過去他曾擔任新加坡區會的會長及美國羅馬琳達華人教會的堂主任,對於牧養及教會行政的經歷很豐富,目前他也在神學系擔任講師,將他過去可貴的服事經驗傳授給學生。來自澳洲卻在台灣生活了20幾年的Steven Gray,接受呼召來到本院擔任總務長的工作。過去Steven也曾在本院服務過,這次再回到我們當中,無疑是因著為主做工的信念使然。他為人處事富有 “Mission Mind” ,無論做何事,皆是將信仰及福音放在首位,完全將自己投入及奉獻在上帝的工作上。而在台灣土生土長的袁國勝牧師則於這學年擔任學務長。在三育基督學院已服務三年的他,畢業於AIIAS,修讀教牧碩士。先前在本院擔任院牧及魚池教會堂主任的職務,過去在臺灣區會也有很豐富的牧養經驗。學務長的工作性質與學生息息相關,這與他過去在院牧職責的事奉上不謀而合。能與學生相處、溝通及給予學生生活、教學、和屬靈生命上的支持幫助使他在工作上樂不思蜀。

每件事、每個職分及每個機構皆有挑戰,本院也不例外。因現今少子化的衝擊和大陸宗教及文化的差異,招生實屬不易,我們面臨到學校型態改變的迫切需要。這學年,本院將繼續跟進立案相關申請計畫,並對於學生獎助學金的募款工作投入心力,讓更多有福音負擔卻苦無經濟支持的孩子們都能前來受裝備,未來在上帝的禾場上作鹽作光,成為得力的工人。

與上帝同在必能得勝。如上帝眷顧先知耶利米一般,我們明白只管奮勇站立,專注上帝的應許,懇求上帝的旨意,上帝必超越任何環境的限制和困難,賜下福氣及恩惠。

認證

1. 歷年以來本校接受本會–基督復臨安息日會教育評鑑協會(Adventist Accrediting Association, 簡稱AAA)每五年一次的評鑑。最近獲評鑑通學位包括神學文學士、宗教文學士、教牧學識、健康促進文學士、健康與管理文學士、雙語商務文學士、音樂副學士、教育副學士學位。通過認證期限:自2018年至2022年5月。

2. 除了通過本會AAA評鑑的認可,自2000年以來本院獲由東南亞神學協會(ATESEA)評鑑及認可神學課程,最近獲評鑑認可自2012年起至2020年11月。

認可課程

A

自2012年獲東南亞神學協會評鑑通過學位包括:神學文學士、宗教文學士、教牧學士學位。通過認證期限:自2017年至2020年11月。

B

自2017年獲東南亞神學協會(評鑑通過教牧碩士學位。通過認證期限:自2017年至2020年11月。

校史沿革

2018

與美國安德烈大學合辦宗教文學碩士學位
A cooperative program of MA in Religion program launched with Andrews University.

2018
2017
2017

獲全球總會教育部核准頒授教牧碩士學位,同年獲東南亞神學協會(ATESEA) 評鑑認可教牧碩士學位
The Master of Ministry program was accredited by the Education Department of the General Conference and ATESEA.

2015

復臨國際學校經教育部核准立案為「南投縣復臨國際實驗教育機構」
Taiwan Adventist International School was accredited by the Ministry of Education and renamed Taiwan Adventist International Experimental Institution.

2015
2013
2013

東南亞神學協會(ATESEA)評鑑通過神學文學士、宗教文學士、教牧學士學位。教會組織改組,自2013年1月起本院直屬北亞太分會管理
The BA in Theology, Religion, and Ministry programs were accredited by ATESEA. Since January 2013, TAC has come directly under Northern Asia-Pacific Division.

2011

兩岸開放,接受大陸學生來台就讀
The opening of Cross-Strait allowed mainland China students to study in Taiwan.

2011
2008
2008

籌辦『復臨國際學校』簡稱TAIS
CHUM approved the initial plans for TAIS

2007

訂定學校願景:立穩本土、放眼華人世界在非組織地區開設第一處教學點
Vision: To consolidate Taiwan and reach out to other parts of the world. First extention site opened in unorganized territory.

2007
2006
2006

921地震捐款,完成但以理樓、學生活動中心、香柏園重建;中學部經教育部核准立案為「南投縣私立三育高級中學」;「三育健康教育中心」改由本院管理
Daniel Hall, Student Activity Center, and Cypress Hall were constructed using 921 Earthquake donations. The Ministry of Education accredited Taiwan Adventist Academy. San-Yu Health Education Center came under TAC management

2001

中學部經南投縣政府教育局核准設立為「南投縣體制外私立三育實驗完全中學」
Taiwan Adventist Academy was accredited by the Education Bureau of the Nantou County as San-Yu Experimental Academy.

2001
1999
1999

九二一大地震行政樓及松鶴樓主樓倒塌拆毀
Administrative building and Songhe buildings were demolished during 921 Earthquake.

1991

新建教堂,現名為復臨堂;全球總會教育部認可頒授文學士、理學士、神學士學位
New college church built. General Conference Education Department granted TAC BA in Arts, Science, and Theology degrees.

1991
1981
1981

更名為「三育基督學院」
Renamed Taiwan Adventist College.

1980

「三育聖經學校」(中學部),由屏東大津遷至現址
San Yu Bible School (Academy) moved from Da-chin, Pingtung to present campus.

1980
1973
1973

於魚池鄉現址破土興建校舍,次年完成遷校,仍以「臺灣三育神學院」為校名
College moved to Yuchih , name remained as Taiwan Missionary College.

1967

更名為「臺灣三育神學院」,以神學為本院設立之宗旨與目的
Renamed Taiwan Missionary College, majoring in theological training.

1967
1964
1964

升格為四年制學院校,畢業學生頒授學士學位
Upgraded to four-year college with a bachelor's degree.

1954

更名為「臺灣三育書院」,增聘資優老師,擴充院舍及設備
Renamed to Taiwan Training Institute, faculty upgraded and facilities expanded.

1954
1952
1952

首任院長柯德爾牧師
First president, Pr. C. A. Carter.

1951

董事會擇定臺北新店七張為本院校地,定校名為「臺灣三育神道書院」
Xindian site was chosen by the Board; the school was named Taiwan Theological nstitute.

1951